Julie and Julia

Film: Julie and Julia
Director: Nora Ephron
Year: 2009

Butter. I love butter.

Julia Child and Julie Powell love butter. And I love their movie. I viewed Julie and Julia with no expectations other than how exciting it was to see Meryl Streep and Amy Adams reunited in another film together (they partnered in Doubt). And that goes for the reunion of Meryl Streep and Stanley Tucci from The Devil Wears Prada. For all of you “6 Degrees to Meryl Streep” players – you’re welcome.

One minute into the Julie and Julia, I already knew I was going to be blown away. Just hearing Julia Child’s voice possessing the vocal cords of Streep put a confident smile on my face and lifted me off my seat into a world of cooking and hope. Act one was so lively and whimsical and never took itself too seriously because after all, it’s a film about cooking (and when was the last time you saw a movie about cooking that made you sad?). Julie and Julia is constructed with intertwining stories between acclaimed cook Julia Child (played by Meryl Streep) and writer Julie Powell (played by Amy Adams). The story follows their lives from being regular everyday people to their success as American icons.

The film proceeds to a journey of ups and downs with Act two and ends with the grand tie in with Act three; uplifting and making the audience yearning for more.

It’s funny how a movie about blogging can inspire you to blog again yourself. That’s why I’m restarting this site and breathing new life into it. I’ve neglected writing film reviews for many months now and it’s time to get back on it. A fair warning that I may sound rusty at first, but give me some time and you’ll learn to love me (at least my writing).

Julie Powell’s blog site: http://blogs.salon.com/0001399/

Adieu for now cool cats.

Sonny gives this movie a delicious “A”.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

